Classes—1 Day

Our one-day classes offer a nice break. Using slabs of clay and a template you will roll or stamp a design into the clay, cut out and assemble. Pick out a glaze color and after drying and firing your piece, we will glaze and fire again in the kiln. Pottery will be ready in 3 1/2 weeks. Handbuilding classes for ages 14 to adult; all experience levels are welcome.

Please register by 5:30 pm the day before the class starts. Register here on the site, or call 434-315-5715 or email butlerp@mainlyclay.com. If you must cancel, please give us at least 24-hour notice.

 

Payment required or registration will not complete.

Loading Events

Past Events › 1 to 2 days

Events Search and Views Navigation

September 2019

Leaf Wreath

September 14, 2019 @ 10:00 am - 2:30 pm
$50

Make a wreath out of clay for hanging or table centerpiece
Cost: $50, includes materials
Sat, Sept 14 -10 am-2:30 pm

Register here »

Chip & Dip Set

September 15, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make a plate and a bowl perfect for serving snacks.
Cost: $40, includes materials.
Sun, Sept 15 -1-3:30 pm.

Register here »

Large Bowl

September 19, 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$40

Make a large wavy rimmed serving bowl
Cost: $40, includes materials
Thur, Sept 19 -6-8:30 pm

Register here »

Little Leaf Dishes

September 26, 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$35

Make a set of small footed dishes using real leaves.
Cost: $35, includes materials.
Thur, Sept 26 -6-8:30 pm.

Register here »

Teapot Workshop

September 28, 2019 @ 10:00 am - 2:30 pm
$65

Make a real working teapot.
Cost: $65, includes materials.
Sat, Sept 28 -10 am-2:30 pm.
*must have taken 2 -1-day classes.

Register here »

October 2019

Large Serving Platter

October 10, 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$45

Make a leaf platter using real leaves or other texture stamps.
Cost: $45, includes materials.
Thur, Oct 10 -6-8:30 pm.

Register here »

Mug

October 12, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$25

Make a mug, 3 design choices.
Cost: $25, includes materials.
Thur, Sept 12 -6-8:30 pm.
Sat, Oct 12 -1-3:30 pm.

Register here »

Soup & Sandwich Set

October 13, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make a soup mug and a plate.
Cost: $40, includes materials.
Sun, Oct 13 -1-3:30 pm.

Register here »

Succulent Pot Set

October 24, 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$40

Make 2 little pots with saucers or a tray.
Cost: $40, includes materials.
Thur, Oct 24 -6-8:30 pm.

Register here »

Wind Chime

October 26, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$45

Make 1 large or a 2 part hanging wind chime.
Cost: $45, includes materials.
Sat, Oct 26 -1-3:30 pm.

Register here »

Pumpkin Lantern

October 27, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on October 27, 2019 at 1:00 pm

$40

JACK-O-LANTERN.
Make a pumpkin lantern.
Cost: $40, includes materials.
Thur, Oct 17 -6-8:30 pm.
Sun, Oct 27 1-3:30 pm.

Register here »

November 2019

Tree Dishes

November 10, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$35

Make 2-3 tree dishes, various sizes
Cost: $35, includes materials
Sun, Nov 10 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Large Bowl

November 17, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make 1 large or 2 small bowls
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Nov 17 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Owl Wall Hanging

November 23, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make an owl to hang on the wall
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sat, Nov 23 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Santa Plate

November 24, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on November 24, 2019 at 1:00 pm

$35

Make a plate, paint on Santa face
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Nov 14 -6-8:30 pm
Sun, Nov 24 1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Tree Lantern

November 30, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on November 21, 2019 at 6:00 pm

One event on November 30, 2019 at 1:00 pm

$40

Make a tree lantern with a saucer.
Cost: $40, includes materials.
Sat, Nov 2 -1-3:30 pm.
Thur, Nov 21 -6-8:30 pm.
Sat, Nov 30 -1-3:30 pm.

Register here »

December 2019

Holiday Tray

December 7, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on December 7, 2019 at 1:00 pm

$25

Make one large or two small cookie trays for the holidays
Cost: $25, includes materials
Thur, Dec 5 -6-8:30 pm
Sat, Dec 7 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Date Night in the Studio

December 10, 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on December 10, 2019 at 6:00 pm

$75

Beginners welcome.
Instructor: Tray Eppes.
Experience the potter’s wheel, relax, and have fun!
Tue, Oct 1 -6-8:30 pm.
Tue, Dec 10 -6-8:30 pm.
Cost: $75 per couple—includes materials, snacks and adult beverage.

Register here »

Mug

December 12, 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$25

Make a mug, 3 design choices.
Cost: $25, includes materials.
Thursday, Dec 12 -6-8:30 pm.

Register here »

Ornament Painting

December 13, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 4:00 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on December 8, 2019 at 2:00 pm

One event on December 11, 2019 at 1:00 pm

One event on December 12, 2019 at 1:00 pm

One event on December 13, 2019 at 1:00 pm

$8

Drop-In - All Ages Welcome
Choose from a variety of shapes  
Cost: $8 per ornament or 2 for $15

Sat, Dec 7 -10 am-1 pm
Sun, Dec 8 -2-4 pm
Wed, Dec 11 -1-4 pm
Thur, Dec 12 -1-4 pm
Fri, Dec 13 -1-4 pm

Ornaments will be ready for pick-up
Dec 18-22

Register here »

Acorn Birdhouse

December 15, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make a birdhouse that looks like an acorn
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Dec 15 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Presto Plates

December 21, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$25

Make 2-3 small plates
Cost: $25, includes materials
Sat,Dec 21 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Sun-Face Wall Hanging

December 22, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make a sunface to hang on the wall
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Dec 22 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Snowman Plate

December 28, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$35

Make a plate, paint the snowmen
Cost: $35, includes materials
Sat, Dec 28 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Try the Potter’s Wheel

December 29, 2019 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on November 16, 2019 at 1:00 pm

One event on December 29, 2019 at 1:00 pm

$30

Beginners welcome.
Instructor: Cricket Edmonson.
Come try your hand on the wheel, make several small pots.
Cost: $30 -includes materials.
Sat, Oct 19 -10 am-12:30 pm.
Sat, Nov 16 -10 am-12:30 pm.
Sun, Dec 29 -1-3:30 pm.

Register here »

January 2020

Owl Bowl

January 9 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$35

Make a bowl that looks like an owl
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Jan 9 -6-8:30 pm

Register here »

Tasting Set

January 11 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make 2 shot glasses and a tray
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sat, Jan 11 -1-3:30 pm
Sun, Feb 23 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Soup Mugs

January 12 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make 2 mugs, great for soup
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Jan 12 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Snowman Plate

January 16 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$35

Make a plate with snow stamps, paint with underglaze
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Jan 16 -6-8:30 pm

Register here »

Try the Potter’s Wheel

January 18 @ 10:00 am - 12:30 pm
$35

Beginners Welcome
Instructor: Cricket Edmonson
Come try your hand on the wheel
Sat, Jan 18 -10 am-12:30 pm
Sun, Feb 16 -1-3:30 pm
Sat, Mar 7 -10 am-12:30 pm
Thur, Apr 30 -1-3:30 pm
Cost: $35 -includes materials
* Ages 16 and up

Register here »

Butter Dish

January 19 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make a rectangular covered butter dish
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Jan 19 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Nesting Heart Dishes

January 23 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$35

Make a set of 2 heart dishes
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Jan 23 -6-8:30 pm

Register here »

Pet Bowls

January 25 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make a bowl for your cat or dog, 1 large or 2 small bowls
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sat, Jan 25 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Flower Pot

January 26 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make a flower pot and a saucer
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Jan 26 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Candle Holder or Vase

January 30 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$40

Make a tall vase or candle holder using a baseball bat as a base
Cost: $40, includes materials
Thur, Jan 30 -6-8:30 pm
Sun, Mar 29 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

February 2020

Mug

February 1 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$25

Make a mug, 3 design choices
Cost: $25, includes materials
Sat, Feb 1 -1-3:30 pm
Thur, Mar 19 -6-8:30

Register here »

Birdhouse

February 2 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$45

Make a real birdhouse
Cost: $45, includes materials
Sun, Feb 2 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Toad Hut

February 6 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$40

Make a clay house and picnic table
Cost: $40, includes materials
Thur, Feb 6 -6-8:30 pm
Sun, Mar 8 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Pig Wall Hanging

February 8 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make a cute pig to hang on the wall
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sat, Feb 8 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Casserole Dish or Brie Baker

February 9 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make a dish that you can use 
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Feb 9 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Date Night in the Studio

February 11 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$75

Beginners Welcome
Instructor: Tray Eppes 
Experience the potter’s wheel, relax, and have fun!
Tue, Feb 11 -6-8:30 pm
Cost: $75 per couple -includes materials, and adult beverage
* Ages 21 and up

Register here »

Little Dishes

February 13 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$35

Make a set of 2-3 footed dishes
Cost: $35, includes materials
Thur, Feb 13 -6-8:30 pm

Register here »

Luncheon Plate Set

February 15 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$35

Make a lunch and 2 side plates
Cost: $35, includes materials
Sat, Feb 15 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »

Try the Potter’s Wheel

February 16 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$35

Beginners Welcome
Instructor: Cricket Edmonson
Come try your hand on the wheel
Sun, Feb 16 -1-3:30 pm
Cost: $35 -includes materials
* Ages 16 and up

Register here »

Soup & Sandwich Set

February 20 @ 6:00 pm - 8:30 pm
$40

Make a soup mug and plate 
Cost: $40, includes materials
Thur, Feb 20 -6-8:30 pm

Register here »

Teapot Workshop -Level 2

February 22 @ 10:00 am - 2:30 pm
$65

*Must have taken 2 -1-day classes
Make a real working teapot.  
Cost: $65, includes materials
Sat, Feb 22-10 am-2:30 pm

Register here »

Tasting Set

February 23 @ 1:00 pm - 3:30 pm
$40

Make 2 shot glasses and a tray
Cost: $40, includes materials
Sun, Feb 23 -1-3:30 pm

Register here »